Cash for the Classroom

GEORGE COUNTY, you get to pick the two educators you would like to see receive  checks from

the George County Times to go toward their classroom needs. Twelve teachers have been given a check

for $25 just for being nominated. The teacher that collects the most votes will receive a check for $250 while second place will receive $150.  You can vote on our website at or visit

one of the area locations to cast your vote. Starting Thursday ballot boxes can be found at Wayne Lee’s Grocery, Edwards Drugs  and the George County Times office. Teachers nominated include front row Carla Brewer (L.T. Taylor), Betty Pitts (CES), Zan Hataway (Special Education) and Cathy Davis (SPIRIT); middle row Heather Wade (BES), Joyce Mallette (AES), Marty Tucker (STAR) and Theresa VanVleck (GCMS); back row Jason Frey (GCHS), Kasha Cunningham (RCES),  Dana Pipkins (LEAD) and Tara Rouse (L.C. Hatcher).

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.